Je suis Maya… Je suis Charlie

this post is a letter written to my dear  Maya Nasser (30 July 1979 – 26 September 2012)[3] was a Syrian journalist and reporter who worked for Press TV, an Iranian English-language broadcasting service. Nasser reported from Syria during the Syrian Civil War. His reports from Aleppo are the most notable.

On 26 September 2012, Nasser was covering the large explosions at the Syrian army’s headquarters in Umayyad Square when he was killed by a rebel sniper. Nasser was shot through the neck and was killed.

Nasser is the 46th journalist killed during the Syrian Civil War.

the post in this link is related to the current post you can also read it 

Maya nasser

Maya nasser

Dear Maya..

I hesitated too much before writing this letter to you. I know you might thought I forgot about you or something but it is not like that…

It is snowing here dear even more than that day when I skipped going to work to spend the day out with you, do you still remember that day? I miss the picture of us being happy together…

I thought of writing to you after a year from my last letter although I didn’t get any sign if you receive my letters in heaven or they just throw it away…I was sitting near my desk staring at my blank page a little bit and out of my window,  the weather is crazy… it feels and looks like somewhere in Europe not in the middle east.. and to tell you the truth when I watched the news yesterday I also felt that Europe is a little bit like the middle east. Maybe we are switching roles for a while..  it’s been two days of complete peace here  but few days ago two terrorists attacked a satirical newspaper in Paris and killed 12 people I guess most of them are journalists and cartoonists… how sad dear, it reminds me of that day when I lost you, it must have been so harsh for their families and beloved ones .. oh I am stupid I am telling you news you already know. maybe those guys are sitting with you now.. I don’t know if you see  the sympathy of the world with their story.. oh Maya you can imagine how I felt when I watched the news and saw the panic of the people there… who knows maybe it is the same guy killed you all .. or maybe it is the same man who trained them to be a killing machine .. the same radical ideology.

I won’t hide on you dear, I felt somehow aggrieved because almost no one looked at us or heard what we said about those killers. At that time I wanted to scream and tell the world about my pain and my anger on those who are viewed on western media as freedom seeking angels… I wanted to say that no man with a gun is an anger .. no man who kills a journalist is a hero …almost The whole world insisted on turning a blind eye on our pain for losing you and many of your courageous friends after you… OK I know you don’t care about sympathy or what the history will say or about making your name well known.. but maybe the world’s awareness of our issue at that time would have made me stronger… if the world is fair there would be a full slogan like this … Je suis Maya .. Je suis yara.. je suis ….. je suis Charlie … but don’t worry dear I am  much much stronger now, you know better..

I feel really sorry the world had to know the truth the hard way.. losing those people must be a big loss I think  now you have them as your friends and you argue with them upon political issues up above as you always did .. well I hope you are healed from your annoying politics obsession..

I will not send you this letter just when I write it because I am waiting for a kind angel to deliver it to you, only the death angel pass by Syria .. just the other day he took away some children from the refugee camps because it was too cold for them to stay… again.. I’m telling you news you already know dear … please be good and keep watching me J talk to you later …

yours sincerly

je suis Charlie

je suis Charlie

One thought on “Je suis Maya… Je suis Charlie

  1. Each death diminishes us all. It’s sad that we don’t know / hear the whole story and sometimes not the true story of what is going on in Syria and other places. I am sorry for your loss, and the the loss suffered by the loved ones of those murdered in Paris. There is no difference.

What do you think?

