The Pied Piper of Syria

I wrote once here that I will only write about hope… only hope will let me look at this white screen and type my letters… today I can’t help not to write, but not to spread hope this time .. to tell a story for humanity to hear…

Once up on a time in a city called Homs in Syria, there were many families who wanted to raise their children normally despite the war torn there and the tragic around them.  they taught their children about love and life. The sent them to school believing they can build a human not a fighter..

They didn’t know that in places like Syria humans are not welcome, if you don’t know how to carry a riffle or a knife you are not welcome. If you only know how to carry your book case, your drawing crayons and your little innocent hear, then you don’t belong here…

One day the “rats” invaded this city (exactly the way in the story we read when we were little kids). They were not like usual rats , not the kind we all know.. they looked like humans . they had heads and hands and everything except for the hearts and brains…

People of the town panicked and searched for a way to get rid of them.

They hea800px-Pied_Piper2rd once in their childhood about a piper who can lead these rats out of their city by playing his magical music… they couldn’t find him anywhere … but they still sent their kids to schools maybe they learn in the biology or chemistry or even in music classes something that helps getting rid of these human rats..

The pied piper knew about the rats problem but he decided not to help the city as he was betrayed before in Hemeline (like the German story) and after that happened to him he always played music for children and led them to his magical unknown land . he waited and waited in front of the school in Homs until the kids got out… he played his pipe music and led them to heaven … straight to heaven… he believed these children are like angels and deserve a better place than this ugly torn noisy place..

The Story in Syria had a sad ending… the children left their families and went to the unknown… the rats are still in the town scaring and frightening people … who knows what is waiting for the children who stayed there..

school children - victims of the terrorist explosion in Homs

school children – victims of the terrorist explosion in Homs

Oh wait.. I lied … that’s what I want to believe but the real story is; the children didn’t go with the pied piper like the old story …. The terrorists bombed the school .. 45 children died ,they had their bookcase with them and their morning sandwiches … their blood is now on the pages of their book instead of the colorful illustrations … the echo of their laughs and smiles is still in the school’s court yard and their moms’ hearts are bleeding of sadness instead of being proud of the future builders …. The piper didn’t take them to heaven but that’s what I’m going to tell their little friends who survived … my little girl please don’t cry .. your friend is now having a nice journey in heaven… if in the future you discover that heaven is also a lie please don’t hate me … forgive me because I was also lied to …

Shahd : a girl survuved the school bombs

Shahd : a girl survuved the school bombs

14 thoughts on “The Pied Piper of Syria

  1. Reblogged this on Al-Must'arib (the vocational Mossarab) and commented:
    Not going to say I share everything said by my fav Levantine here (I still believe in Heaven, whatever it is) … but I understand every one of these words. Up to bottom. Rest in Peace, kids… And for the families… be strong. And keep looking forward. As they would expect you to do so, if they were still alive and depending on you.
    Look forward for them. Syria depends on all and every one of you, just like these kids.
    Syria is these kids.

  2. It was so hard to press ‘Like’ on this. I think back on the stories of Syria that my grandmother told me almost 60 years ago and I wonder why such beautiful people have been subject to such pain throughout time. It is so hard to read about children dying and children being hurt. Reading this makes me realize that facing the surviving children may be the hardest part of all. To offer the children hope is important, but I don’t know where you could start.

    It is good to see your post. I am so happy when I see the email notification, just to know that you are still there, alive and able to write. I hope you are safe, although I realize that ‘safe’ is a relative term and I probably don’t understand your version. We will continue to keep you in our thoughts and prayers.

    • Dear Dan, the sweet stories you’ve been told about Syria are true even four years ago I wouldn’t believe it if someone told me this is going to happen here… but there’s a something I discovered lately about the human nature ,,, we can never predict how evil human can be until they live in a jungle like society … I believe now that animals in the jungle are more merciful than some human beings, especially if there is an ideology that hypnotizes their brains ..
      Far from the subject of the post … thank you very much.. perhaps you don’t know how some comments draw a smile on my face 🙂

  3. I would also like to reblog this – it is a story the world knows well enough, but which needs constantly to be thrust in the faces of those who allow carnage to go on and do nothing. It is good to think of those children in a better place, I truly wish it for them, as devoutly as I wish an eternity in burning hell for the monsters – I cannot call them people – the animals that perpetrate these deeds. May they come to regret.

  4. I, like others who have commented here, found it difficult to “Like” this post. I chose to think of the action differently this time, not in the sense that the content of your post brings me joy, but rather that I have read, reflected on and acknowledge your pain and want you to know that. I’ve only heard stories about my Syrian heritage from my father (who often comments here and has commented on this post earlier) and my uncle, but am so disconnected from it here in the United States. I hope to be able to visit Syria someday to have a sense of where my family has come from. I too am always happy and relieved to see a new post from you. You have such a beautiful way of telling even the saddest stories. You continue to be in my thoughts and prayers for your healing, and for that of your beloved country.

    • first, I’m sorry for being late in my reply 🙂
      your comment made me wish to know you in person maybe someday you visit your second homeland and then maybe I can let you know the real Syria , the one that I knew and the one I grew up in not the one we watch on TV screens .
      BTW your name “faith” in Arabic is Eman 🙂 such a beautiful name

What do you think?

